The Foundation

About the Foundation

Established in 2003 by Liana Burgess (1929-2007), the International Anthony Burgess Foundation is an independent charity for everyone who is interested in Burgess’s work.

in this section

Trustees and Patrons:

Company details

The Anthony Burgess Foundation is a registered charity and a company limited by guarantee. The Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees: Carson Bergstrom, Professor Bill Blazek, Yves Buelens, Gaëtan de Chezelles, Matthew Frost, Stella Halkyard, Caroline Langdon-Banks and Patrick McDonagh.

The Foundation employs the following staff: Andrew Biswell (Director), Ian Carrington (Events and Operations Manager), Anna Edwards (Archivist), Graham Foster (Media and Communications Officer), Aneta Jarzebska (House Manager).

Honorary Patrons

David Batchelor, William Boyd, A.S. Byatt, David Crystal, Fulvio Testa, Elisa Mantin, Jonathan Meades, David Lodge, Paul Phillips, Carla Sassi, Max Saunders, Martin Scorsese, Brian Swann.